Special Olympics Wisconsin created the Law Enforcement Torch Run Dale Brunner Hall of Fame Award In 1999.  

Named in honor of Wisconsin’s first LETR Director, the Law Enforcement Torch Run Dale Brunner Hall of Fame Award recognizes Wisconsin’s outstanding individuals who significantly contribute to the continuing statewide success of the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Torch Run for Special Olympics.

Wisconsin Joins the Law Enforcement Torch Run

Milwaukee Police Officer Dale Brunner was instrumental as Wisconsin joined the Law Enforcement Torch Run movement in 1986, serving as Wisconsin’s First Torch Run Director. Dale laid a foundation for success by cultivating relationships of mutual respect and inspiration that continue to unite the communities of Wisconsin’s Law Enforcement Agencies and Special Olympics.

Bringing Wisconsin Law Enforcement and Special Olympics together as Director for the Wisconsin LETR, and work as Regional Coordinator were nationally recognized on February 15, 1992 at the First Annual Law Enforcement Torch Run Awards Night for Special Olympics. Dale proudly entered the first class of The Torch Run Hall of Fame alongside Torch Run Founder Richard LaMunyon (KS), Kirk Miles (KS), Janet Holliday (TX), Chris Casey (KS), Joe Hurtuck (NJ), Doyle King (KS), Lorne White (ON), Dave Atkins (NH), Peter Wheeler (CT) and Darrell Sanders (IL).

Together the communities of Wisconsin’s Law Enforcement and Special Olympics have built an undeniable platform that brings awareness to the unique programs Special Olympics provides its athletes and the opportunity to transform lives through charitable financial contributions, and volunteer opportunities.  Since 1986, together with civic leaders, elected officials, executives of business and the community at large the Wisconsin Law Enforcement community has raised over $30 Million dollars for Special Olympics Wisconsin in addition to a growing number of fundraising platforms ensuring it’s continued success.

The Dale Brunner Hall of Fame Award is bestowed upon those participants who have gone above and beyond the normal call of duty in their efforts to enhance the LETR in its support of the mission of Special Olympics Wisconsin. The award is presented annually after the Final Leg and Law Enforcement Torch Run® Celebration during the Wisconsin Summer Games

view hall of fame inductees