(Dale Brunner & Richard LaMunyon)

The Law Enforcement Torch Run began in 1981 when Police Chief Richard LaMunyon of Wichita, Kansas created the Torch Run. He thought the Torch Run would help law enforcement be active in the community and support Special Olympics Kansas. In 1983, Chief LaMunyon presented the program to the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP). With the IACP’s support, LETR became the movement’s largest public awareness and fundraising group for Special Olympics.

Wisconsin joined the Law Enforcement Torch Run in 1986 with Dale, then a Milwaukee Police Officer, as Director.  Dale’s tremendous efforts bringing law enforcement and special olympics together as Director for the Wisconsin LETR, and work as Regional Coordinator were nationally recognized on February 15, 1992 at the First Annual Law Enforcement First Annual Law Enforcement Torch Run Awards Night for Special Olympics. Dale entered in the first class of The Torch Run Hall of Fame alongside Torch Run Founder Richard LaMunyon (KS), Kirk Miles (KS), Janet Holliday (TX), Chris Casey (KS), Joe Hurtuck (NJ), Doyle King (KS), Lorne White (ON), Dave Atkins (NH), Peter Wheeler (CT) and Darrell Sanders (IL).

Looking to join the run or volunteer?  Find out when the Law Enforcement Torch Run is near you.